"Land of the Midnight Sun"


The Kingdom of Norway is a Nordic country. It is also known as the Land of the Midnight Sun because of its northern location, as part of Norway lies above the Arctic Circle, where in summer the sun does not set, and in winter many of its valleys remain dark for long periods.

It is located in Northern Europe, west of Sweden on the Scandinavian Peninsula. It is a very long, narrow country and has an extensive coastline along the North Atlantic Ocean, where Norway's famous fjords are found. In addition to Sweden, it borders Russia and Finland. The nearby island territories of Svalbard and Jan Mayen also belong to the Kingdom of Norway.

The Landscape

The landscape in Norway is generally rugged with about two-thirds of the country being mountainous topped byglaciers, although there are some small, scattered plains and fertile valleys to the south useful for farmland. The landscape in the south also includes enchanted forests and sunny beaches. In the north of the country, the landscape is very much like that of the Arctic Circle. Norway’s coastline is over 20,000 km in length with lots of steep-sloped inlets known as fjords, and some 50,000 islands and islets. The lowest point in Norway is at sea level and the higest point is the Galdhopiggen mountain at 2,469m above sea level.


The North Atlantic Ocean borders Norway for its entire length, and is surrounded by three different seas: the North Sea to the southwest and its large inlet the Skagerrak to the south, the Norwegian Sea to the west and the Barents Sea to the northeast.


The Norwegian climate is fairly temperate, especially along the coast because of the Gulf stream. The inland climate can be much colder and to the north more subarctic conditions are found because of Norway’s closeness to the Artic Circle. Norway generally has cold summers and year-round rain along the west coast.

Facts About Norway

  • Full name: The Kingdom of Norway
  • Nationality: Norwegian
  • King: Harald V
  • Capital City: Oslo
  • Area: 324,220 sq km or 125,181 sq miles (land: 307,860 sq km water: 16,360 sq km) Although Norway’s coastline is immense, the size of the country is approximately the same as that of Italy.
  • Population: 4,546,123
  • Currency: Norwegian Krone (Nkr)
  • Languages: Norway has two official languages, Bokmal and Nynorsk
  • Religion: Mainly Christianity

The Norwegian Flag

The flag as we know it today, was born in 1821. The cross is from Norway’s Nordic neighbours, Denmark and Sweden.

The colours of red, white and blue are not traditional colours dating back to the Viking age. If there would be any such colours, they would be red and yellow, or golden, from the golden lion on a red background on old, royal weapons. The red basic colour was taken from Denmark, the blue cross was meant to represent Sweden, and the white frame around the cross, made it the tricolour of freedom.

Some Images of Norway