Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea is located in the southern hemisphere on the continent of Oceania. It is a group of islands including the eastern half of the island of New Guinea situated between the Coral Sea and the South Pacific Ocean, east of Indonesia. The largest part of the country is on New Guinea (where the capital Port Moresby is also located); major islands belonging to Papua New Guinea include New Ireland, New Britain andBougainville. 

Papua New Guinea is divided into twenty provinces:
  • Bougainville
  • Central Province
  • Chimbu
  • Eastern Highlands
  • East New Britain
  • East Sepik
  • Enga
  • Gulf
  • Madang
  • Manus
  • Milne Bay
  • Morobe
  • National Capital
  • New Ireland
  • Northern Province
  • Sandaun
  • Southern Highlands
  • Western Province
  • Western Highlands
  • West New Britain

The Flag of Papua New Guinea

  • The local Kumul bird of paradise flies across the red half .
  • The five five-pointed stars of Southern Cross reflect the ties with Australia and other South Pacific nations.
  • Black, red and yellow are traditional colours in Papua New Guinea.

Fact File

  • Sovereign: Queen Elizabeth 11
  • Governor General: Paulias Matane (2004)
  • Prime Minister: Sir Michael Somare (2002)
  • Area: 178,703 sq miles (462,840 sq km)
  • Population: (2004 est): 5,420,280
  • Capital: Port Moresby, 324,900
  • Monetary unit: Kina
  • Languages: Tok Pisin (Melanisian Pidgin, the lingua franca), Hiri Motu (in papua region), English 1-2%, 715 indigineous languages.
  • Race: Melanesian, Papuan, Negrito, Micronesian and Polynesian
  • Agriculture: Coffee, cocoa, coconuts, palm, kernels, tea, rubber, sweet potatoes, fruit, vegetables poultry and pork.
  • Industry: Palm oil processing, wood chip production, mining of gold, silver and copper, crude oil production, construction and tourism.